Tuesday, September 22, 2015

2015 Lantern-Making Workshops

Update: *Our lantern-making workshops for 2015 are now over... Thanks to all 146 of you who came out!*


Make your own lantern at one of our drop-in community workshops. Cost is $10 per lantern or pay-what-you can. All are welcome! Materials & instruction provided.

Sat. Oct 3             Wellington Library, 10 - 3

Tues. Oct 6          Picton Library, 3 - 6

Sat. Oct. 24         Spark Box Studio, 1 – 4.  
                           Create beautiful lanterns by collaging collagraph prints of botanical material         printed on rice paper. 

Wed. Oct. 28      AcousticGrill, Picton, Comix Jam! 7 PM onwards. 
                          For those who like to draw; collaborate on comics-inspired lanterns.

Sun. Nov. 1         BaxterArts Centre, Bloomfield, 12 - 5

Tues. Nov. 3       Milford Town Hall, 5 - 8. *FREE*! Sponsored by Milford Rec. Committee

Wed. Nov. 4       Picton Town Hall – with free meal from Food Not Bombs! 5:30 - 8

Sat. Nov. 7         Athol Recreation Centre, Cherry Valley, 12 - 4.

                           Pay-What-You-Can, sponsored by the Athol Rec. Committee

Sun. Nov. 8         BaxterArts Centre, Bloomfield, 12 - 5

Tues. Nov. 10     Picton Town Hall, 9 – 4 

Sat. Nov. 14       The Firelight Lantern Festival!

  • 6 PM - Gather at Benson Park, Picton. Bring your lanterns! Costumes encouraged! You can pre-pay your admission to Crystal Palace, and get a carrying stick and LED tea light for your lantern (Bad weather? Go straight to Crystal Palace at 7 PM)
  • 6:30 – Community Parade leaves for Crystal Palace
  • 7 PM – Arrive at Crystal Palace. Musical guests: The Shuffle Demons!
  • Admission: $5 adults, $3 children *or* Pay-What-You-Can (cash only, exact change makes you awesome)




We hope you can join us! For more information, or to inquire about hosting your own lantern-making workshop, contact Krista at krista(at)smallpondarts.ca, 613.471.1322.